In my family, I have a reputation for hating movies. To some extent this is humorous exaggeration, but it has been a noticeable pattern since my teenage years. What is true is that I do not go out of my way to watch many movies. I only watch a few per year, usually as part of a family outing. And the part of movies I enjoy the most is talking shit about them afterwards. When I have shared this trash talk online, it’s not always well-received, because people love their darlings, and my reasoning is not necessarily well-founded. But I also enjoy reading imdb reviews and laughing at all the weird reasons people like or dislike movies, so it’s only fair that you get to laugh at my weird reasons.
What I have here are a small collection of reviews of musical sequels. In all of these cases, I only saw the second movie, I did not see the first. You are welcome to think that this is the improper way to see them. But it seems like all the movie industry makes anymore is sequels (fact check: sequels are about 40% of the movie market). So isn’t this just the logical conclusion?
